Dunloe - the pass through the
MacGillycuddy Reeks is magical - take a
jaunting car, walk, cycle or jog right
through to the Black Valley. A day trip from
Killarney through the gap and returning by
boat through the lakes of Killarney and back
to Ross Castle can be booked at
Tours. ~ Kate Kearney's Cottage
- Originally a coaching inn, this welcoming
cottage is the starting point for those
jaunting through the gap.
Bog Village- Located on the Ring
of Kerry just before Glenbeigh, this is a
unique rural attraction; the village is made
up of six dwellings with thatch roofing,
restored to their original setting.
Rossbeigh - the scenic beach in
Glenbeigh, with 8km of golden sand and
panoramic views of the surrounding mountains
is Kerry's most popular. The west side of
Rossbeigh facing the Atlantic ocean is
perfect for surfing or windsurfing, whilst
the east side is protected somewhat from the
Atlantics breezes - great for beach games,
canoeing and learning how to windsurf.
The Barracks (Cahersiveen Heritage
Once an old RIC Barracks, burnt down in
1922 now restored to its former glory, as
part of a Community project. The Barracks is
an interpretive centre for the area.
Derrynane House - home to the late
Daniel O Connell "The Liberator" .The house
is restored to its former glory with the
addition of a museum and period furnishings.
Skellig Experience Valentia Island
- Accessible from the bridge at the town of
Portmagee, the island features a slate
quarry with a huge natural grotto, tropical
vegetation and magnificent seascapes to
Staigue Fort - Located near
Castlecove just off the Ring of Kerry, a
circular stone fort, with a single doorway
entrance and stairway as high as the wall,
built during the Iron Age this fort is
around 2,500 years old. It is an excellent
example of dry masonry and shows remarkable
sophistication in design and workmanship.
Kenmare Lace - The history of Lace
making in Kenmare (one of Irelands heritage
towns) travels back to the Great Famine of
the 1840s. The Clare nuns led by Sr Mary
Frances Cusack organised Lacemaking
workshops to help the Kenmare people
resulting in being a life tradition to the
present day. Kenmare Lace is both
fashionable and unique.
Molls Gap - located amongst the
long and winding road between Kenmare and
Killarney, perfect for viewing the famous
MacGillycuddy's Reeks and surrounding lakes
on the many Jaunting cars on offer.
Ladies View - approximately 16 km
from the town of Killarney, displays
panoramic views of the three lakes and
Torc Waterfall - 7km from
Killarney town, this waterfall is 60 ft high
with surrounding trees, with views of the
Lake area on the way up to the waterfall.
Muckross House, Gardens and
Traditional Farms- A Magnificent
Victorian mansion and leading stately home.
The rooms are elegantly furnished reflecting
the lifestyle of the period. The gardens
portray unblemished beauty. There are three
separate working farms with a selection of
poultry, Kerry cattle and traditional farm
machinery. The farms are in working use
where you can observe the daily routine of
the many craftsmen with their specialised
The Blue Pool - As you journey
from Muckross House to Killarney turn right
just before Molly Darcy's pub - here you
will find one of the Killarney's best kept
secrets - the Blue Pool Nature Reserve -
here the local wildlife has made its home -
see Kingfishers feasting on trout - Badger
trails - and much more. The reserve has
special trails for the blind.
Ross Castle - the gateway to the
Lakes of Killarney, now fully furnished its
open to the public. If you are staying in
Killarney, the Ross Peninsula is a perfect
distance for walkers and joggers - around 5
Kilometres (3 miles) round the peninsula and
back to town.
From Ross Castle you can take a boat
around the lake or walk the many footpaths
to see the flora and fauna unique to the
area. Just sit and enjoy the peace, watch
children feeding the swans and take in the
beauty that has made Killarney so famous.
Ogham Stones: Ogham was the
earliest system of writing to appear in
Ireland. The language used was an early form
of Irish but was script based on the Roman
alphabet. The letters represented by sets of
strokes cut across or on either side of a
vertical stem line formed by the edge or
corner of a standing stone. There is a very
good example of these stones between
Beaufort village and the Gap of Dunloe on
the left hand side.
Spiritual Buildings of Interest
Stone Circles - Associated with
the Bronze Age, a stone circle consists of
five or more standing stones, which enclose
a flat piece of ground. The small stone
circle found in Lissivigeen near Killarney
town. These stones are known locally as the
seven sisters, while the outlying stones are
known as "pipers" or "musicians". The stones
were probably erected for ritual or
St. Mary's Cathedral - Killarney -
Building of the church commenced in 1842 on
the church but was interrupted in 1848 as a
result of the famine and didn't resume again
until five years later. The cathedral was
consecrated in 1855 but was not finally
completed until 1912 when the tower and
spire were added. St. Mary's is a cruciform
church with a nave and aisles, two large
transepts and a central tower crowned with a
spire, with simple rose windows. The church
is a fine example of late nineteenth century
Muckross Abbey - Founded in the
15th Century this Franciscan friary is
preserved to a high standard, it was built
of local limestone. The tower, added after
the church was built is the only Franciscan
tower in Ireland which is as wide as the
Franciscan Friary - Built in 1860
it is situated in Fair hill in Killarney
town. It holds similar style to Muckross
Abbey with a unique piece of stained glass
at the entrance.
Killegy Church - Built as an 18th
century reconstruction of an earlier church.
Located on the Kenmare to Killarney road.
O' Connell Memorial Church - Built
in memory of the late Daniel O'Connell "The
Liberator". The church can be found in the
town of Caherciveen. The materials used were
black limestone found locally and Newry
Holy Well - Located 1.2km from
Killarney town, this well is reputed to have
special healing powers.
Sneem Church and Cemetery - the
church of the Transfiguration built in 1810,
displays a salmon as a weather clock, the
cemetery is a burial ground for a former
Irish president- Cearbhaill O'Dalaigh.
Skellig Michael - is a large
jagged rock, which hoists itself
dramatically out of the Atlantic 8 miles off
the coast of Kerry. There is a flight of
steps leading to the remains of the monastic
settlement, which occupy a series of
terraces, enclosed in drystone walls on a
narrow shelf of rock nearly 600 feet above
the sea, the enclosure also contains the
ruins of St. Michaels church.
Beehive Cells - Located at Skellig
Michael, these corbel-roofed cells are round
in the outside and square in the inside. One
of the clochans has a cross of white quartz
stones built onto the wall above the door.
Stone Pillars and Erect Slabs -
usually inscribed with a cross, the erection
of these stones was an Irish tradition.
These stones often marked the grave of the
founder of the monastery and in some cases
they were old pagan standing stones
converted to Christian usage.